Spring Meeting & AGM at Royal Ashdown Forest – 18th May 2019

We met for the usual early AGM on an overcast day but a valiant effort was made by all to get there for the start. Again we fielded 16 in the morning Foursomes matches but it was good to see some of the old stagers being replaced by some younger members, sampling the delights of the course for the first time. The greens were in excellent condition and the amount of tree/bush clearance was impressive. Congratulations to Rob Record and Tom Spencer who retained the Honan Cup. Obviously, they were not too distracted by Rob's spaniel *Blue*, running the whole way from the 7th to the 17th with a dead rabbit firmly clutched in his mouth!

Unfortunately the new extended balcony overlooking the 1st was still under construction but we were joined in the bar by John Vincent, Peter Strode and Mike Tibbatts, the latter recovering from a new hip. Lunch was most enjoyable and one always wishes one could linger over lunch more golf beckoned. Anthony Fitzgerald and John Gibbs led out the Singles matches in a buggy and fortunately Royal Porthcawal match decided to opt for the other course leaving us to play unhindered on the Old course.

The Singles matches in the afternoon saw an impressive round by our President, John Gibbs who won on countback with a score of 40. It must be a good omen, given that he was to take up the Captaincy of Woking GC the very next day — many congratulations! Age has finally caught up with Finbarr O'Connor who was relegated to winning the Donnellon Trophy for the over 60s!

Honan Cup: (4-Somes Stableford) – Tom Spencer & Rob Record (39)

Mitchell Putter: (4-Somes scratch) - Will Theile & Sam Moon (25)

Raby Cup: (Singles Stableford) – John Gibbs (40)

President's Plate: (Singles scratch) – Will Theile (32)

Donnellon Trophy: (Singles over 60) – Finbarr O'Connor (37)

<u>Players</u>: John Gibbs; Finbarr O'Connor; Nick North; Robert Record; Tom Spencer; Alex Cuppage; Anthony Fitzgerald; Chris Newsam; Philip Quigley; Hugh Grieve; Nick Price; Sam Moon; Will Theile;

Lucas Domecq; Alex Coddrington; Henry Rowan Robinson; John Daly

Lunch only: Mike Tibbatts; Peter Strode & John Vincent