## OAGS Tour de Espana March 2019

A fine collection of OAGS players gathered mid March in the Costa del Sol hoping for lots of sun and quality golf whilst trying to avoid the customary blobs and drinking fines. The Tour Group consisted of:

Alex Faulkner Chris Healy **Christian Minchella** Ed Robinson **George Hattrell** Hugh Jackson James Faulkner Lucas Domecq Mark Whittaker Martin Hattrell Matt Camacho Pierre van Houtte Sam Moon Simon Hardy Will Thiele William Frewen

Strong prevailing winds made golfing conditions tricky to say the least, whilst alcohol consumption hit new record heights with the return of a certain past Hewitt Captain to the tour!

The golf itinerary consisted of the following:

- 27 holes practice at Mijas
- 18 holes at Sotogrande
- 27 holes at Rio Real
- 18 holes at Los Naranjos

The opening 18 hole scratch Stableford competition at Stogrande was won by Alex Faulkner with 27 points. It was preceded by the hotly contested annual putting competition (trophy kindly presented by C Healy); this year Alex Faulkner beat George Hattrell in the final. Well done Alex!

That evening we ventured into Sotogrande Port for dinner, it later escalated into a variety of drinking fines, rugby scrums and other challenges back at Castillo Whittaker. It became evident that a 4 ball containing of Messrs Whittaker, Camacho, J Faulkner and Jackson had been conceding gimmies, allegedly against tour rules. The democratic decision after consultation with the Attorney General (M. Hattrell) was a very hefty drink fine! Needless to say they suffered the next day!!

Day 3 consisted of a 9-hole friendly warm up at Rio Real Golf and Country Club followed by a competition of 18 holes scratch Stableford. The winner was W Frewen with 25 points! Need more be said!!

The final round was to be played at the tour HQ and now adopted home course of Los Naranjos, suitably dressed in the hosts fancy dress 'plus 4' attire.



There were 2 significant battles going on, overall tour winner and the wooden spoon prize or avoidance thereof!

In contention for the overall tour winner within the final group were:

H Jackson, M Whittaker, M Camacho and A Faulkner.

It soon became a 2-way battle between Matt Camacho and Alex Faulkner, eventually Matt prevailing with a classy final day score of 34 points, thereby equalling the one round tour record.

The "wooden spoon" prize was being as equally contested by C Healy, S Moon, L Domecq and Martin Hattrell. After 9 holes, it also became a 2 man battle between C Healy and M Hattrell. With an epic finish on the 18th it was eventually honours even and after countback, Martin Hattrell was declared the new proud owner of the much coveted trophy.

The total 3 round scratch Stableford scores were as follows:

M Hattrell	47	W Frewen	63
C Healy	47	P van Houtte	63
L Domecq	54	J Faulkner	66
E Robinson	55	C Minchella	67
W Thiele	56	M Whittaker	70
S Moon	57	H Jackson	76
S Hardy	60	A Faulkner	79
G Hattrell	60	M Camacho	84 Winner

So came to an end another most enjoyable and fiercely competitive, in many ways, pre-Hewitt golf tour to Spain. Special mention goes to the Rookie of the Year winner Sam Moon and tour debutant Will Thiele on general behaviour and providing first class tour guides of the nightlife in Puerto Banus. Congratulations to the Tour Bookie, Matthew Camacho, being acclaimed Champion Golfer and taking the trophy back to Yorkshire, deservedly so after all the hard work and dedicated practice over the winter.

Finally, a massive note of thanks to all for helping to contribute to the Tour and the OAGS Youth Fund, an essential and vital part of our wonderful society, they both help the OAGS to continue to flourish in numbers and popularity.

Next stop was to be the Halford Hewitt in Kent.